Khammouan is a province of Lao PDR, located in the center of the country with its capital Thakhek. It covers an area of 16,315 square kilometres and is mostly covered with forested mountainous terrain. Its neighbouring provinces are Bolikhamsai Province to the north and northwest, Vietnam to the east, Savannakhet Province to the south, and Thailand to the west. Many streams flow through the province to join the Mekong River. It is further divided into 9 districts.

Khammouane, meaning “happy gold”, is believed to have been named after the gold deposits found in the area hundreds of years ago. The province has many remaining buildings that date to the colonial period, especially in Thakhaek. The natural sights include attractive mountains, forests, caves, waterfall, wild sanctuaries, limestone forest, ethnic villages, and the crystal blue waters of Khun Kong Leng Lake. The Khammoun Plateau features gorges, grottoes, jungles, limestone hills, and rivers. The main ethnic groups consist of Lao and Mon-Khmer speaking groups.

List of districts & experimental sites

The ongoing SRI-LMB experimental sites in the selected districts of Khammouan province are listed below:
  • Mahaxay
  • Nakay
  • Yommalath



Provincial Staff

Ms. Khampheuth Vonglatana
LMU/Provincial Coordinator
Provincial Agricultural Extension and Coperatives
Khammouan Province, Lao PDR
Office: +856-51-496005
Mobile: +856-20-58804699